[BEAUTY] Benefit They’re Real Mascara Review – Is It Worth The Hype?

Hello my lovelies!

I hope you’re all well 🙂 For today’s post I’m going to be reviewing the Benefit They’re Real Mascara, which I’ve promised a review on for ages. I’ve had it since Christmas so I’ve got a clear opinion on it now.

Now if you haven’t heard of this mascara (if you haven’t then you cray), it’s a very hyped about mascara that is apparently the Worlds Best Mascara, and one is sold every 10 seconds. Also, Benefit claims that it makes your lashes look too good to be true, almost fake, so of course, being a mascara hoarder, I had to get my hands on it.

benefit they're real

IMG_1170

The Good:

The Packaging– The mascara comes in a sleek silver packaging that fits very well in your handbag or make up bag. It’s convenient and classy, but it certainly doesn’t look £19.50.

The Brush– I was always very intrigued by the brush of this mascara. It’s sort of spiky, with a long brush for most of your lashes and a short, sort of terrifying looking ball end which is made for your outer, bottom and inner lashes. It works incredibly well, tugging onto your lashes but it hurts like bad karma when you poke your eye with it (I wouldn’t recommend trying that).

Takes no time to apply– Seriously, I put a swish of this on and BAM, my lashes are decent enough to go.

Longevity– In the evening when I’m about to take off my make up, this literally looks identical to what it did in the morning when I first applied it.

The Bad:

The Price- The price is just ridiculous for what it is. First of all, who wants to spend nearly £20 on a mascara?! Not me… I’d say it’s worth around £11/£12.

The Formula– I know some of you will hate me for this, but to be completely honest with you I don’t thin the formula is anything better than another mascara. It creates an alright length, a decent amount of volume and black enough lashes, but nothing near false looking lashes?

Rating- 3.5/5

REPURCHASE? No, I’m pretty sure there are better mascaras but I’m so glad I had the chance to try it.

Maybe it’s just me, but I really didn’t think this mascara was anything special other than the brush. I’ll still use it of course, but I wouldn’t recommend it.

What did you think of this mascara?

Thanks for reading,

Kavi xox

 

30 thoughts on “[BEAUTY] Benefit They’re Real Mascara Review – Is It Worth The Hype?

  1. kizloves says:

    completely agree hun! absolutely adore the mascara but it’s way too expensive!
    have you tried the l’oreal miss manga? i think it’s quite a good dupe xxx

    • Kavi says:

      Thank you! It is so expensive, seems to be going up in the price as well :/ No, I’ve heard very mixed reviews about that mascara so I’m not sure whether to try it or not! xxx

  2. Sarah says:

    I totally agree with you to be honest! Everyone keeps raving about this mascara, and I really don’t understand why? :/ It’s okay…I found the formula a bit too runny though, and my lashes didn’t look longer or false? The price is ridiculous, you’re right! NYX have a couple of great mascaras which do a far better job, and they’re less than £10! 🙂 Pin Up and La Amoreaux (sp?) xx

    • Kavi says:

      I’m glad! 🙂 It is, even when it’s dried out it’s still runny! My lashes look a bit longer but nothing extreme… I can’t wait to try out NYX when I see it in store, I haven’t seen it yet! I know you love it though 🙂 xx

      • Sarah says:

        Yeah, I found that :S I don’t get the hype at all haha.
        Lol ah, was it that obvious? xD xx

  3. debsashton says:

    i was a bit like this with my lancome mascara, i love the brush, and the product though but not the price, so when there was an offer on a different one in the range, but with a different brush, i just gave my old fave a wash out and swapped them over, its like using it all over again, ive done this with several mascaras and changed over,

    • Kavi says:

      That’s such a good idea! It could be a make up brush, it’s different for everyone because everyone likes different brushes. Great idea, and thanks for commenting! 🙂

  4. The Beauty Advisor says:

    I totally agree I wasn’t impressed either- it was okay nothing i would considering purchasing again. Laura Gellar Glamlash is around the same price and works so much better, the thicker formula really makes a difference! Glad i’m not the only one who wasn’t thrilled with it!

    • Kavi says:

      Definitely! I’ve never actually heard of that brand, some mascaras are probably really good but have no recognition in the beauty world :/ Same, and thanks so much for the retweet! 🙂

  5. jacquelyng56 says:

    I have a love hate relationship with this mascara. I love the wand and once you let the formula dry out for about a week, it does work really well. I hate the removal of it though. Such a chore. I think the maybelline rocket mascara is much better and it’s less than half the price. No doubt I will continue to buy this one though xx

    • Kavi says:

      The removal is horrible, my lashes feel like plastic! I think that mascara is 10 times better and it definitely deserves the hype, a much more reasonable price too! It’s nice to have a different option of mascara if guess 🙂 xx

  6. geauxx says:

    I tried a deluxe sample of this mascara & while I’m in love with Benefit, I couldn’t see paying full price for it. Have you tried Avon’s Mega Effects Mascara? Now THAT mascara has my undying affection!

    • Kavi says:

      It’s definitely not worth it, I agree! No I haven’t, its got an awesome brush though, I’ve always wondered about that one!

  7. arielle says:

    I’m so glad someone else thinks that! Everyone raved about it, but I prefer my MAC Optimim Opulash by miles! Haven’t heard from you in a while!x comment back?

    • Kavi says:

      That’s very true! However if the mascara lived up to it’s expectations/claims then I definitely wouldn’t mind paying that much! Have you tried it? Thank you so much, and thanks for commenting Madi 🙂 xxx

  8. Frankie CH says:

    I’ve always thought this was way over priced personally, I haven’t tried it myself but from looking at many, many reviews, I think my L’Oreal Miss Manga does the same job! Great review though, at least I know what to expect if I ever did cave and purchase it 🙂

    Frankie x

    • Kavi says:

      It definitely is! I’ve seen that the L’oreal Miss Manga mascara looks quite similar to it actually- just a lot cheaper! However there’s so many mixed reviews on it I’m not sure whether to try it out or not! Thank you so much 🙂 will definitely be checking out your blog, you seem lovely! X

Leave a Reply

