Benefit Makeover Experience and Review

Hello lovelies! Yesterday I had my make up done by benefit because my brother booked it in for me as a Christmas present! I’m going to talking about the make up they used, the techniques they used and what I thought about the products and the makeover in general.

photo (2)

photo 2 (29)

 

photo 1 (33)
Hannah started off by asking about my skin type and my typical skin care/make up routine. I told her that I had normal/dry skin and a slightly oily T-zone.
After telling her, she showed me some skincare products like the refining exfoliater and a foaming face wash. She tried these products on the back of my hand and compared it with the other, and I have to say my hand was reasonably smoother and brighter!
For the make up, she decided to do half the face first and then match it up if I like it. She used a sponge to apply a lotion/moisturiser onto my face and them used a foundation brush to apply the much raved about ‘porefessional’ primer. I was surprised because she applied the primer straight after the moisturiser, when usually I would wait a bit.
I asked her to use the ‘hello flawless’ foundation because I really wanted to see what it was like. We decided on the warmer shade, which is called ‘toasted beige’. I really liked the feel of the foundation on my face but I think she applied a little too much, as afterwards I felt (and looked) a bit cakey.
Then she used a highlighter called ‘sunbeam’, and with this she made an X shape then dotted some onto my cheekbone. Instead of blending straight away, she applied ‘cha cha tint’ on top of the X and then blended it in. This was a weird technique I must say, I’ve never seen anyone do this before! Turned out I really loved how the tint looked though, it’s such a pretty coral colour. Hannah set the tint with a powder blush called ‘Coralista’, but I think she applied it a little too heavy. She then highlighted my face everywhere else.
Moving onto eyes, she applied the ‘They’re real’ mascara which I am currently using. I do love this mascara, I should hopefully have a review up soon!
She used the Brow zings palette to fill in my eyebrows, where she used both the wax and powder. I don’t think filled in eyebrows suit me, so I’ll be sticking to natural brows from now on.
I was a bit bored with my lips so I asked her if I could try out one of the lipsticks, and so we tried this pretty, bright coral red colour.
Lastly she set my make up with the new ‘porefessional’ powder.

So I’m now going to tell you what I thought about the benefit experience. I thought it was a nice treat to have and I am glad I had it. It was nice to see what the products that had been raved monkeys about felt and looked on my skin. Overall though, I wasn’t too happy about the finished look. The make up was not blended or set well. I felt my make up just sitting on my face, which made feel like a cake. Even if I touched my face, product would come off. The blush was too heavy and she hadn’t applied the foundation too well either.
When I got home, I used a buffing brush and blended the products in properly, set my face with powder and removed my heavily waxed eyebrows.
I have to say I was quite disappointed, and so was my mum, who thought I could’ve done better. I still enjoyed myself though! If your not too fussy about make up unlike me, then you would probably enjoy it.
Did you have a benefit makeover? How did yours go? Do you like benefit?
Thanks to my brother and benefit for the experience! *I am in no way associated with the brand benefit, I simply wanted to write about this*
Thank you for reading,
Kavi xox

26 thoughts on “Benefit Makeover Experience and Review

  1. jacquelyng56 says:

    Your makeup look lovely but I have to agree that any time benefit have done my makeup it has been pretty caked on. I get my eyebrows waxed there and they insist on filling them in after even though I don’t need it. It’s always nice to get shown new things though. Xx

    • Kavi says:

      Thank you! I’m so glad someone understands what I mean aha! Oh they sound so pushy! I hated it at the end because they were watching me whilst I was looking at the products. So awkward! Yeah that’s true!xx

  2. Rebecca says:

    I had someone at Benefit do my eyebrows once and they turned out like yours in that photo, very over exaggerated and over arched. It totally put me off the product and I asked her to wipe it off straight away. I don’t know why they cake it on like that, especially to someone as naturally beautiful as you.

    Sorry you were disappointed, but glad you had fun anyway. πŸ™‚

    • Kavi says:

      I’m thinking benefit isn’t really trustable for eyebrows!! It’s good that you asked her to wipe it off though! Aww thank you do much πŸ™‚

    • Kavi says:

      Oh right of course! Can’t wait to read it! That’s a shame how she didn’t ask about your routine, it’s always good for a make up artist to know what your skin is like etc.
      Aw thank you! I’ll look at that now! Love those tags so thanks for tagging me πŸ™‚ xo

      • thatindianchick says:

        Yes lol I went there about a year ago and bought a whole bunch of stuff but i also felt that the make up just sat on my face and kinda slid around.. I serioulsy went back the next week and returned everything. It’s just not the company for me.. I’d rather stick to my MAC cosmetics haha

      • Kavi says:

        Mm, I think they have the texture wrong. Wow, your so lucky that they let you! We aren’t allowed to return make up! Yeah MAC seems very good quality!

  3. beautyadoration says:

    I’ve never tried Benefit but I have heard quite a few things about their products being cakey. Some people love them though so maybe the woman who did your make up just didn’t have a clue how to work with the make up, sounds like a bad experience! 😦 But at least you got to try out a few new products. You’re very pretty BTW!

    • Kavi says:

      Trying out benefits make up was always something I’ve wanted to do, so yes that’s good! And now I do think it was partly down to the women :/ oh well! Aww thank you, and so are you you little stunner!

Leave a Reply

